Hybrid solar eclipse 2023, LIVE: what time and how to see it live today

A hybrid solar eclipse will occur between this wednesday 19 and Thursday April 20, and will be visible in a sector of the southern hemisphere. In addition to briefly dimming the daylight, this solar eclipse is notable for taking on three distinct aspects (total, cancel either partial), depending on the location of the observer. According to NASA, such a phenomenon will only occur seven times this century.

In this note we tell you all the details of the astronomical event, which you can see live in the video on the cover.

What time will the solar eclipse be seen from Peru, Mexico, Colombia and other countries?

The maximum phase of the hybrid solar eclipse (the moment when the Moon will cover the largest portion of the Sun from the perspective of an observer on Earth) will occur at 4.16 UTC (Coordinated Universal Time). These will be the schedules for each country:

  • Mexico: 10.16 pm (Wednesday 19)
  • Peru: 11.16 pm (Wednesday 19)
  • Colombia: 11.16 pm (Wednesday 19)
  • Ecuador: 11.16 pm (Wednesday 19)
  • Argentina: 1.16 a.m. (Thursday 20)
  • Chili: 12.16 a.m. (Thursday 20)
  • Spain: 6.16 a.m. (Thursday 20)
  • Venezuela: 12.16 a.m. (Thursday20)

Where will the 2023 hybrid solar eclipse be seen?

Although most of the period that the eclipse will last will occur over the Indian and Pacific Oceans, the full phase of the event will be visible from the western peninsula of Australia, East Timor and some Indonesian islands.

What is a hybrid solar eclipse?

Hybrid solar eclipses occur because of the curvature of the Earth and when the Moon, while covering the Sun from the perspective of a surface observer, casts its three shadows over a region of the planet. These are its umbra, penumbra and antumbra.

What does a hybrid solar eclipse look like?

The phenomenon begins as an annular eclipse when the satellite passes in front of the star and covers the central part. Then, being closer to the earth’s surface, it hides the entire solar disk, causing a total solar eclipse. Finally, it returns to the annular phase.

While this transition between annular and total eclipse occurs in a privileged strip of the earth’s surface, the surrounding regions witness a partial solar eclipse. That is, part of the solar disk hidden by the Moon.

Source-larepublica.pe