Kapler and Cash win Manager of the Year award

Gabe Kapler and Kevin Cash won the Manager of the Year award in the National and American League, respectively.

Cash of the Tampa Bay Rays, who also won it in 2020, joins Bobby Cox as the only manager in history to win Manager of the Year in successive seasons.

Kapler of the San Francisco Giants got 28 of 30 first-place votes. Counsell, who finished in second place, received one vote for first place, while Shildt (3rd) took the other. Brian Snitker of the Braves finished in fourth place and Dave Roberts of the Dodgers in fifth.

Kapler had a huge responsibility ahead of him when he replaced Bruce Bochy as Giants manager in November 2019. The move was not well received by Giants fans, but the president of the baseball operations department, Farhan Zaidi , defended the decision and made it clear that he was willing to risk his own reputation by making Kapler the chosen one to lead the club.

Two years later, it is difficult to disprove the results. After going 29-31 in his first year at the club, Kapler led the Giants to a franchise record of 107 wins and their first NL West divisional title since 2012, something quite remarkable taking Note that, according to the projections of the Pecota system of Baseball Prospectus, the forecast was 75 wins.

Cash, who outvoted Scott Servais (2nd place) of the Mariners and Dusty Baker of the Astros (3rd), navigated a series of obstacles to lead what turned out to be a historic season in Tampa Bay. Puerto Rican Charlie Montoyo of the Blue Jays finished fourth, compatriot Alex Cora of the Red Sox in fifth, Tony La Russa of the White Sox in sixth and AJ Hinch of the Tigers in seventh.

Cash created a positive and relaxed atmosphere that allowed the players to feel comfortable being themselves. He seamlessly managed a roster built on depth and flexibility rather than stars, using 61 players (including 38 pitchers) and 158 different lineups during the regular round.

He is a skilled driver when it comes to making decisions in games.